New Goals for this ROW

Well, I’m a bit late to this round, but I’m not sitting out!  I discovered something lately that has probably been contributing to why I haven’t been getting my editing done — or much of anything else — but it’ll be a few more weeks before I can mention it. ;-]  The good news is, by then, it should be gone!

In the meantime, here are my new goals:

  • Writing: 4 hours a week of editing. Complete at least one first pass of revising on one scene a week (and then some).
  • Health & Fitness: Gym twice a week. Bonus: Additional cardio once a week.

And that’s it!  I want to focus down on what matters most this ROW.  I’m not getting any younger, and I want to see this novel in at least a form I feel proud of presenting! ;-]

Before I started ROW and while I was still trying to finish my first draft, I had also tried establishing some rewards for big word count milestones.  That really helped, so I think I’ll try it again for this ROW!

My Rewards:

  • 10 hours editing: A slice (or two!) of cheesecake (without guilt!)
  • 20 hours editing: Gratuitous notebook or CD purchase!
  • 30 hours editing: Special candle to burn while writing
  • 50 hours editing: Pedicure at a spa
  • Finishing a first pass edit on Mage Slave: priceless.  Just kidding! Reward is: Etsy jewelry purchase! woo hoo!

For today, I spent 2 hours editing, sitting outside on my patio swing while the hubster built a small fence to shade our air conditioner.  We both had a great time.  =)  Now I hope to do an hour or two more!

5 thoughts on “New Goals for this ROW

  1. Keeping it simple and rewarding yourself are great ways to stay on the ball. I am always amazed at folks who have 25 different goals. Just tracking progress on all that would take up all my time.

    Good work and good luck. (You will make that Etsy purchase, I know you will!)

  2. I am so delighted to see a writer rewarding themselves for hard work! That’s great. It is also excellent to see you’ve set priorities rather than putting together a list which can work you into the ground.

    Good luck! Take care and I will be really interested to see how you progress.

    Cheers,
    Cate (ROW80)

    • Thanks, Cate! Rewards have worked so well for me in the past. If it continues to work I may recommend to more people to try it! That way when I don’t meet my goal one day, instead of getting down on myself, the rewards keep me positive. Instead of thinking, why have I again not met my goals, on Tuesday I thought – but I really want that piece of cheesecake! How can I make that happen? Keeps me positive and focused on the future. =)

      Thanks again, so much, for your encouragement.

      • It’s my pleasure. You inspired me! We all need rewards. They discovered that without some sort of reward, communism didn’t work. If there is no pay-back, why do you put the effort in. Keep up your great work!

Leave a Reply

