“Done!”

Well, I haven’t posted in a while, because I was either able to say, another 10K more, or another 3 weeks I messed up because of this or that distraction! But over the months, I’ve plodded/plotted along and I can’t believe it but…

I reached the end!

At 99, 341 words, I hit the end!!

This is the first time I have ever finished a novel. I’ve started on several and gotten lost down dark corridors of plot changes gone awry. It was amazing, exhilerating, fun, and hard to believe! I attribute my finishing to learning more about planning a novel and doing almost all of that planning before I started writing. It helped SO much to have a good ending firmly in mind that I was driving towards!!

Of course, the first 38K or so was a headlong nanowrimo dive into insanity, and I could definitely have used to stop at a few points and do planning and character development which I eventually had to do later. Because of this, there are so big revisions to make to the beginning, based on what made for a good end, but maybe that’s just the way the process will work for me personally. We’ll see!

Now the next question is, with nanowrimo looming… Do I do it again with a new work? A second book in the trilogy? Or should I finish my intense revisions while they are fresh in my mind and skip nanowrimo this year?  OR am I insane enough to try both??  Seriously could use some advice here.

What do you think?  Have you ever struggled to reach the end?  What did it feel like to get there?

3 thoughts on ““Done!”

  1. I am so happy for you! Congrats! That is a major accomplishment. I have learned a lot about writing in the last year also, but my NaNo project got put in a drawer somewhere. I’m doing NaNo this year, but only with the goal to stretch my writing output. I am not expecting much from that novel either. Crazy or not…you’ll only know if you try. I say go for it.

  2. Congrats!!! That’s huge. What did you decide? Are you tackling NaNoWriMo right now? I am doing my first and feeling surprisingly successful in the first week. Regardless, you should pat yourself on the back for finishing your novel. Well done:)

  3. Hey guys! Sorry for being so horribly lax in replying. (lax? Is that spelled right?) I did try tackling NaNo! It was crazy, but it was the right thing totally. Now that I had my sci-fi fling I’m going to try to polish up this novel to be fit for reading! Thanks for your support.

Leave a Reply

